GOLFERS RE-ELECT MORGAN.

Refuse to Extend Limits of the Metropolitan Association.

The Metropolitan Golf Association last night re-elected W. Fellowes Morgan President of the association, left the details of the arrangements for the annual open and amateur championships to the Executive Committee, adopted a new Constitution, but refused to extend the jurisdiction of the association beyond the pres-The proposition to extend the ent limits. limit to seventy-five miles was offered in response to a request from the New Haven golf clubs, which sought enrollment in the In their desire they were association. backed by some of the upper Hudson clubs the neighborhood of Poughkeepsie, which wished to join. But the association refused to accede to the proposition, declaring the present limits were adequate to the purposes of the association, and there were no advantages to be gained by a change. After the meeting Secretary Leighton Calkins stated that the revision of the playing code, in the hands of the committee of the United States Golf Association for presentation to the St. Andrews Club, would not be completed for

Except for the extension of the limits of the association, the new Constitution offered to the body was accepted in toto. There are a number of innovations included in it, of which the most important to the players is a clause which permits the Executive Committee to reject any entry of any player in the championship meetings of the association. In the course of the meeting other important prerog-atives were granted in the Executive Committee.

two months.

There were some fifty golfers in the meeting room at Delmonico's when President W. Fellowes Morgan called the meeting to order. Twenty clubs responded to the roll call, while the well-known among the roll call, while the well-known among the delegates representing them included Walter J. Travis, Findlay S. Douglas, C. H. Seeley, all former champions of the association; John Reid Jr., W. E. Hodgman, George C. Austin, O. L. Williams, W. R. Moon, R. A. Waterbury, F. C. Jennings, W. R. Delahanty, Joseph Byrne, H. V. Keep, A. S. Pitt, C. H. Lee, H. F. Whitney, F. J. Philips, Archie Graham, H. Y. Hewitt, A. M. Robbins, G. T. Brokaw, Clark Buckingham, Chester Griswold, J. S. Taylor, John L. Taylor, and Leighton Calkins. Leighton Calkins.
On the President's table were displayed the two big trophies won by the association during the past season, the Olympic

Cup, emblematic of the international team Cup, emerged won chompionship, won at won at Euclid, and the intercity team match with Boston and Philadelphia golfers. They were the visible evidences of the success of the past season, which saw decided thirteen open and invitation tournaments in addition to a number of one and two day events and the usual championships. Secretary Calkins referred to the successes of the season in his re-port to the association, and took occasion to congratulate the association on its excellent record. In the course of his report he referred to the effort made by the association to arrange an open championship in conjunction with the Massachusetts and Philadelphia golf associations to cover the three districts, and regretted the failure of the project. He also regretted the failure to

hold an open tournament in the association itself, owing to the absence of any application from a club within the association to undertake to share its expense. The arrangements for both the amateur championships and the open championships of the association were left entirely as to date and place in the hands of the Executive Committee, while the Lesley Cup arrangements were left in the hands of President Morgan. As the competition is to be held next year in the Metropoli-

tan District the Englewood Club made informal application for the holding privilege.
The election of officers resulted in the re-election of W. Fellowes Morgan as Vice Morgan as President, of Arden M. Robbins as Vice President, Leighton Calkins as Secretary, and Frank C. Jennings as Treasurer, Vice: President, and Frank C. Jennings as Treasurer, and with them constituting the Executive Committee of George T. Brokaw, John R. Maxwell, Jr., James L. Taylor, John Reid, Jr., and Grinnell Willis. The Nominating Committee was composed of Howard F. Whitney, W. D. Vanderpoel, and Findley S. Douglas.

was composed of W. D. Vanderpoel, and Findlay S. Douglas. M. C. A. Indoor Athletic Games. The third monthly games of the Twenty-third Street Branch of the Y. M. C. A. will be held to-night at 215 West Twenty-third Street. programme will include 220-yard handicap, 440-yard handicap, 880-yard handicap, mile run, handicap; obstacle race, high jump, shotput, 64-yard (handicap)? swimming race, 64-yard (novice) race, 96-yard (handicap) relay

race, and water polo.

The New Hork Times Published: December 11, 1907 Copyright © The New York Times